- Media Type
- Item Type
- A photograph of the Bales House at 317 Mill Street taken in 1923.
- "This solid yellow brick house, built in 1885 by a Mr. Good, faces east, overlooking the Mill Pond. It passed through five families before Joseph Allan Bales bought it in 1922. John Bales, his great grandfather, emigrated from England in 1817 and settled on Bathurst Street just below Sheppard Avenue in Lansing.
Many alterations have been made to modernize this house, but the walls are still two bricks thick and the original baseboards have been retained in most of the rooms including the living room where the baseboard is crowned by a complex moulding. As in all old houses, it was necessary to replace commodes with closets.
A two hundred year old walnut tree stands majestically in front of the house. The circumference of its trunk is 13 feet 6 inches and its branches spread out over a 75 foot area.
North of the house, is a barn that was originally a match factory. It stood on the corner of Mill and Bathurst Streets by the pond and was dismantled and moved to the property before it was owned by the Bales family. When the factory was in production, the cost of a pail of matches was one cent." (Explore Centennial Richmond Hill)
- Date of Original
Width: 12.5 cm
Height: 8.5 cm
- Local identifier
- Language of Item
- Geographic Coverage
Latitude: 43.87111 Longitude: -79.43725
- Richmond Hill Public LibraryWWW address
Agency street/mail address
1 Atkinson St, Richmond Hill, ON L4C 0H5